The Chicago Cubs is the King of Baseball Clubs. Formerly, known as Chicago White Stockings, started its journey in the year 1870 with their then owner and President William Hulbert. In 1876, it joined the National League (NL) as a charter member. Soon they emerged as a top team in the NL Central Division.


Apart from playing home matches, it even competed in Major League Baseball. Some of the notable players of the team were pitcher Albert Spalding, infielders Deacon White, Ross Barnes, and Adrian Cap Anson.


White Stockings earned back-to-back pennants in the year 1880 and 1881. They were awarded the pennant for the third consecutive year in 1882. Between 1876 and 1886 the Cubs won six pennants under Anson as a player and manager. Soon they got nicknamed as Anson’s Colts or Chicago Colts. To be noted Anson created history by collecting 3000 career hits as the first player.


Owners and managers changed but the club went on with their success.




William Hulbert was the owner of the Chicago Cubs. After Hulbert’s death, Spalding became the owner, and Anson became the player-manager. In 1914, after obtaining large shares of the club, Albert Lasker became the owner. Bill Wrigley after securing a huge stock of the Cubs became the majority owner in 1916. Presently, Thomas S Ricketts is the owner.


General Managers


At the early stage, the club did not have any official managers. Charles Webber was the first one to hold the post of general manager in the year 1934. Since then there are 13 mangers except the 2 interims.


  1. Charles Webber: 1934-1940
  2. James Gallagher: 1940-1949
  3. Wid Matthews: 1950-1956
  4. John Holland: 1957-1975
  5. Satty Sattwell: 1976
  6. Bob Kennedy: 1977-1981
  7. Dallas Green: 1981-1987
  8. Jim Frey: 1987-1991
  9. Larry Himes: 1991-1994
  10. Ed Lynch: 1994-2000
  11. Andy Mac Phail: 2000-2002
  12. Jim Hendry: 2002-2011
  13. Jed Hoyer: 2011-Till Date


League Affiliations


  • National League – 1876 to present
  • Central Division – 1994 to present
  • East Division – 1969 to 1993


Evolution of the Club’s Name


  • Chicago White Stockings:- 1976-1889
  • Chicago Colts:- 1890-1897
  • Chicago Orphans:- 1898-1902
  • Chicago Cubs:- 1903- present


Major League Titles


It has won major World Series titles in 1907, 1908, and 2016; apart from Central Division Titles, East Division Titles, National League Pennants, and more.


World Ranking


The Chicago Cubs are ranked as the 16th most valuable sports team in the world, 12th in the US, 3rd in the MLB, and the first in the city of Chicago as of 2018.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation